Prince Charming

What qualities do you wish to see in your partner?”

My answer to this question was always the same- “Never thought about it”.

But, to be true, somewhere deep in my heart, I also dreamt of my man, or to say more specifically, my Prince Charming. My images of the perfect guy were influenced by the romantic movies and novels I loved. He would be as the stereotype goes- tall, dark and handsome. He would not shy away to express his love for me in front of the world. Flowers, dates, handmade cards- he would be my Santa Claus with a bag full of surprises. And one more thing, he would know a thousand ways to woo me and sweep me off my feet. Be it proposing me, or throwing in a random surprise, he would just be the perfectionist.
I am a die-hard romantic, ready to go out of bounds just to get a smile on my love’s face, and naturally I expected my guy to be the same. But as they say, ‘Man proposes, God disposes’. Destiny had something else in store for me.

A short, dark guy being scolded by the teacher – that’s how I saw you for the first time, and it was nowhere close to my Prince Charming. But, I found something cute and innocent in your behavior and the way you talked, and not to mention, your smile- that million dollar smile which was convincing enough to make me accept the chocolate you gifted me on my birthday, in spite of the fact that I had never even talked to you before that day. And there began our friendship, from facebook to class room. I started to nurture a liking for you.

Then came the proposal, something I was secretly waiting for. Though it was not the typical down on your knees kind of proposal which my dream man would do, but, for me, that proposal on the last bench of the class was the best proposal of the world.

You are not the roses and surprises type of guy, but you make sure that my smile never leaves me. Contrary to my imaginations, you are a shy person, but with a heart clear as crystal, so clear that you can’t keep the rare surprises that you think of planning, away from me.

You may be different from my earlier thoughts of a perfect guy, but today I can proudly say that you are the definition of ‘Prince Charming’ for me, and no one can love like you do. And there is no worry about the surprises part too, because I am there to plan little, sweet surprises, which I love to. I really don’t want you to change. What I dreamt was influenced by movies and novels, but what you do for me is reality. Your care is much more special than anything else you would do.

I love you.

2 thoughts on “Prince Charming

Leave a comment